Chapter 4: The Perfect Gentleman

imagesLove is a very complex emotion especially when you get the chance to actually be with the person that you love. So imagine what it feels like to be in love with someone you can’t have? Let me tell you…it hurts. Especially when there is an obvious connection that does nothing but continue to build. I had begun to realize that this was the probable outcome of whatever was going on between the bartender and I. Am I eventually going to get my heart broken?

A couple months after spending a couple days a week at the bar with Brett, I just decided to accept the fact that I happened to fall in love with him. I could not seem to stop thinking about him. Everywhere I went he was on my mind…at work, while I was studying, while I was sleeping…I couldn’t seem to get him off my mind.

I began to finally talk about my feelings to my friends. One friend in particular wanted so bad to meet him after I could not stop talking about him. So one night her and her husband met me there to finally meet him. Instantly, she loved him. “He’s so cute! And of course he has glasses! He seems perfect for you!!” she kept telling me throughout the night. She couldn’t seem to find any reason why we weren’t a perfect match. “Awww…I think you finally found your match!”

On the flip side, I had no idea Brett was sizing up my friends just like they were sizing him up. I decided to hang out with him after my friends and I finished dinner so I stuck around at the bar. “They were nice! How do you know them?” he asked. So I began telling him the story about how my best friend Amanda and I met. “So, her and the guy are married?” “Yep, they just got married earlier this year, but they’ve been together for like four years.” “That’s awesome, what are their names?” “Amanda and Josh.” “Good to know!”

Huh…he’s interested in knowing my friends! That’s interesting, especially when it was their first time in the bar. What did that mean? Does it mean anything or is he just being nice? 

That night the connection I felt seemingly became a deeper one. He was interested in not only knowing about aspects of my life, but about my friends’ lives as well. From there, every time I would bring a new friend(s) in, he would take the time to always follow up and ask me general questions about them. It wasn’t too long before he was able to call everyone by their name each time we went in there. The problem with that is that I couldn’t help but fall deeper and deeper for him because he was not only getting along with me, but my friends as well.

One night, my friend Rachelle and I were there. We hadn’t seen each other in a while so we decided to sit at a high top table where we could just catch up. He came over to greet us and walked up next to me and leaned his shoulder on mine. It was the first time we touched. This is going to sound cheesy, but in that moment I felt a spark of electricity just run through my body. “Oh snap! He totally likes you!” my friend kept saying. “Whatever, no he doesn’t! I don’t know what that was!” “He totally does! You can’t tell, but from an outside perspective, there’s an obvious connection there!”

Later that night something happened that I wasn’t prepared for. We were getting ready to leave when he asked the question that I had been waiting months to hear: “There’s this bar right down the road, I’m thinking about going to have a beer when I leave here…do you guys want to go?” OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!!! He just asked me, well us, to go join him for a beer!! “Oh yeah totally, that sounds like so much fun!”

Little did I know that Rachelle was ready to go home. “I’m so tired and I can’t drink anymore…you should go though! He probably just wants to go with you!” “I’m not going alone! I’ve never been there before and it’ll be weird to go alone!” “Well, my Uber is here so you should just go!” So she ditched me right outside the bar. What do I do? Is it going to be weird if I go alone? Ummm, why am I questioning this?!

I called an Uber and got a ride to the bar. He met me there about half an hour later and upon his entrance, he instantly took my breath away. He was still wearing his work attire, but he not only had on the cute, black framed glasses, but a black backwards cap that made him look even more adorable. Really?! I didn’t think he could get any cuter!

We sat there and talked for the rest of the night. Music, movies, television shows, work life, and our lives outside of the bar. We even talked about where we thought our lives would go from here. It was closing time and our night was coming to an end. “Hey, can you put his beer on my tab please?” he asked the bartender. “What?! You don’t have to!” “No, it’s no problem, thanks for coming and keeping me company.”

He paid the tab and we walked outside. “So your car isn’t here?” “No, I requested an Uber, it should be here pretty soon.” “Alright, well I’ll wait here with you.” And he did. When the driver pulled up, he walked with me up to the car, and said bye with a handshake. As the car drove away from the bar, I couldn’t help but smile because I had found him…I had found my perfect gentleman.

Leave a comment